Info & Ideas

Levels of Consciousness

Levels of Consciousness

The 7 Chakras are quite well known these days.  If you don’t know about them check out this website.  The 7 Chakras are the main energy centres located inside the physical body, but there are plenty of minor energy centres, and some located outside of the physical body.  2 that are particularly useful for the work that we are doing here is the earth chakra – located between the feet and connecting you to the energy of the earth, and the heaven chakra – located about a foot above the head, and responsible for connecting you to divine light.

In the same way that there are 7 chakras, there are also 7 levels of the aura, and each is responsible for a different level of consciousness.  The Aura is an extension of the physical body, and can be considered as the 0 level of the aura.  Then we have the instinctive level – responsible for instinctive survival instincts – eating, sleeping, fighting, etc.

The second level is the emotional level – responsible for the beginning of social relationships – desires, and karma is stored at this level.

The third is the Rational level – thoughts, memories, logic.  This is the level that mainstream society is focused on these days.

The fourth is insight, the beginnings of intuition, and the seat of creativity and artistic expression.

The fifth is transcendence, detachment, compassion – being able to see the big picture.

The sixth level of consciousness is the ability to love all things, people experience love of God, and of the world, and of everyone they meet.

The seventh level brings everything together into unity – we are part of one great divine web – everything is interconnected.  You cease to feel separation, and there is a certain joy of connection.

Beyond the 7th level is really beyond the aura – the 7th level of the aura is infinite in size, covers the whole universe – the 8th level is where consciousness transcends space and time, and all is one being – (this is what a lot of the mystics were talking about when they described the experience of God)

So the spiritual journey is an opening of the higher levels of consciousness, and expansion of the level of consciousness that you are working through.


Do You Believe

Arguments rage between Theists and Atheists – is there a God? Does it matter? What is this God?

From a certain perspective this says more about the nature of the people arguing than anything really about God. People on the left of the diagram have an innate instinct for simple rational explanations of the world. They feel that if there is anything divine it is only the demonstratable scientifically valid aspects that need concern them – people on the right have a more mythical, sentimental approach that is not satisfied by bare provable facts and wants a deeper explanation. They have an innate sense of the divine as a being. In the middle of course there is a middle ground – the sense that maybe there is some divine being, but we don’t really know for sure. These people are happy with uncertainty.

Who is right? On a factual level I don’t think we will ever really know, but on a practical level each one is right for themselves – by following a path that is inline with your natural instincts and beliefs you can progress much more easily on the spiritual path.

Are you Atheist? Theist? or Agnostic?

Dharma dynamics 9 spiritual paths

Being in the Now and Then

These days much is said about “Being in the Now” and how valuable it is.

For some it is a profound valuable experience, but for others it is a disturbance, and an imposition that takes them away from themselves. Some like to be focused on creating a more positive future, and some like to just relax and be natural – whether that is in the now or the future, or even the past.

In the Diagram:

Dharma dynamics 9 spiritual paths

the paths in the bottom row are into being in the now. The paths in the top are into co-creating the future, and the paths in the middle are into being natural.

Which one do you prefer?

9 Spiritual Paths

There are 9 major approaches to spirituality that i have found. (i used to think there were 8, but it turns out i missed one.) Each one goes with a certain personality, a certain approach to the world. Most people find that one of them is much more attractive, and easier than the others.

Which one attracts you?

Dharma dynamics 9 spiritual pathsinlakech Emotional Freedom and the Shamanic path

pentagramWhite Magic and the Wiccan path

crossFaith and the Christian Path

yinyangRelaxation and the Taoist Path

Peace symbol - upside downNature and Deep Permaculture

indexWisdom, Kabbalah and Judaism

zen circle Expansive awareness, and Buddhism

omUnion and devotion and the Yogic Path

muslim symbolSurrender and the Sufi and Islamic Path